Tuesday, March 13, 2007

These people just don't learn

I have received yet another follow up email to the scam that is being attempted against me. I guess the folks running the scam did not have the sense to read my website, or my blog. Nevertheless, we can have some fun with them at their expense and use their attempts as a learning experience.

Here is the most recent post with header info:
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Return-Path:
Delivered-To: russelln-russell@russellnomer.com
Received: (qmail 37228 invoked from network); 13 Mar 2007 19:16:08 -0000
Received: from unknown (HELO web27309.mail.ukl.yahoo.com) (217.146.177.170)
by host211.ipowerweb.com with SMTP; 13 Mar 2007 19:16:08 -0000
Received: (qmail 46503 invoked by uid 60001); 13 Mar 2007 19:16:06 -0000
DomainKey-Signature: a=rsa-sha1; q=dns; c=nofws;
s=s1024; d=yahoo.co.uk;
h=X-YMail-OSG:Received:Date:From:Subject:To:In-Reply-To:MIME-Version:Content-Type:Content-Transfer-Encoding:Message-ID;
b=bHCMapRoNqjkjib2Njh8YOTt8zesHuM8WuAjHJZI7jutvE5ohQNThlIfn2AToA10ZpGuTQy8QyfSSOB/C3fE87HfY8CM/7wB63X4iZikLu6yzSnPFR1dImfxJZxKqzJe+Rr8/OjzSz1n2MQ2WRK8A/1HqIcOD7seQhjyBx4Obns=;
X-YMail-OSG: 8n0QTZ0VM1lTYOnXACasMOVexf.htlkC7CZGAsWZVEsSrm379Pz4Soem4TByLBvhAlf2MaYGZPPtbzgWvzM0N1VpYM24W5sg8jXXYAbMNPKJxP0UcJrJCZXcNE8WfYo1srRqwfeF6JT5
Received: from [86.62.11.98] by web27309.mail.ukl.yahoo.com via HTTP; Tue, 13 Mar 2007 19:16:06 GMT
Date: Tue, 13 Mar 2007 19:16:06 +0000 (GMT)
From: marble corry
Subject: RE: FW: Remuneration
To: russell@russellnomer.com
In-Reply-To: <00ac01c76572$e0cee100$a26ca300$@com>
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: multipart/alternative; boundary="0-1536588243-1173813366=:46368"
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 8bit
Message-ID: <605886.46368.qm@web27309.mail.ukl.yahoo.com>



TO THE BENEFICIARY OF THE FUNDS WORTH USD$100,000.00

ATTENTION:MR RUSSELL NOMER

AFTER MAKING INQUIRIES AND PROPER VERIFICATIONS,I'VE FOUND YOU TO BE THE RIGHTFUL,LEGITIMATE AND AUTHORIZED BENEFICIARY OF THE FUNDS PRESENTED TO ME ON YOUR BEHALF BY MR.GILBERT CHARLES.I HEREBY INFORM YOU THAT I HAVE PRESENTED YOUR FUNDS DRAFT OF USD$100,000.00 TO THE BONGESSO TRUST BANK,SO IT CAN BE LODGED INTO YOUR BANK ACCOUNT.THE BONGESSO TRUST BANK OF BENIN-REPUBLIC IS WHERE THE DRAFT IS BEEN DEPOSITED FOR IT TO BE LODGED INTO YOUR NOMINATED BANK ACCOUNT,AS INSTRUCTED BY MR.GILBERT CHARLES.THE BONGESSO TRUST BANK IS A TOP COMMERCIAL BANK THAT HAS MANY BRANCHES AND OFFICES THAT CUTS ACROSS THE GLOBE.THAT ENTAILS EUROPE,ASIA AND AUSTRALIA. BENIN-REPUBLIC IS IN AFRICA,AND THE BANK HAS OTHER BRANCHES IN THE NEIGHBOURING COUNTRIES OF BENIN-REPUBLIC WHICH INCLUDES,GHANA,REPUBLIC OF CAMEROUN,TOGO,IVORY COAST AND NIGERIA.IT'S MAIN HEAD OFFICE IS SITUATED IN MY COUNTRY,BENIN-REPUBLIC. I'VE ADHERED OBEDIENTLY TO THE INSTRUCTION GIVEN TO ME BY MR.GILBERT CHARLES.THE NEXT THING YOU WILL DO NOW IS TO CONTACT MR.RON CASIE. HE IS THE PERSON AT THE HELM OF AFFAIRS AND IN CONTROL OF THE DEPARTMENT OF INTERNATIONAL TRANSFERS/FOREIGN REMITTANCES OPERATIONS.HIS DEPARTMENT OVERSEES THE AFFAIRS AND FINANCIAL ACTIVITIES OF ALL THE MEANS OF MONEY TRANSFERS THAT ENTAILS DRAFTS,WIRE TRANSFERS,TELEGRAPHIC TRANSFERS AND ACCOUNTS TRANSFERS.YOU WILL HAVE TO PROVIDE YOUR BANK ACCOUNT COORDINATES WHERE YOU WANT THE DRAFT TO BE LODGED/TRANSFERRED INTO.
THE CONTACT IS MANDATORY BECAUSE THE BANK NEEDS A PROPER IDENTIFICATION OF YOURSELF FOR CONFIRMATION,SO THAT IT WILL BE IN LINE WITH MY OWN PRESENTATION OF YOURSELF TO THE BANK OFFICIALS ,AS THE RIGHTFUL LEGITIMATE SOLE-BENEFICIARY OF THE DRAFT WORTH $USD100,000.00.MR.RON CASIE'S EMAIL CONTACT ADDRESS IS FOREIGNTRANSFERDEPT@BONGESSOTRUSTLTD.COM CONTACT HIM IMMEDIATELY SO THAT THE DRAFT WILL BE LODGED INTO YOUR NOMINATED ACCOUNT. I LOOK FORWARD TO HEAR THE FEEDBACK PROMPTLY.



BARRISTER.MARBLE CORRY (HONS,SAB,SENIOR ADVOCATE)

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

BONGESSOTRUSTLTD.COM actually points to a geocities website. No bank would ever host there, so that is the first clue to what's wrong with this picture.

A quick whois lookup of the domain provided this useful information:


Domain Name.......... bongessotrustltd.com
Creation Date........ 2005-11-18
Registration Date.... 2005-11-18
Expiry Date.......... 2007-11-18
Organisation Name.... Danny Wing Kin Li
Organisation Address. 3603 Gunnison Dr
Organisation Address.
Organisation Address. Lawrence
Organisation Address. 66049
Organisation Address. KS
Organisation Address. UNITED STATES

Admin Name........... Danny Wing Kin Li
Admin Address........ 3603 Gunnison Dr
Admin Address........
Admin Address........ Lawrence
Admin Address........ 66049
Admin Address........ KS
Admin Address........ UNITED STATES
Admin Email.......... *************@yahoo.com
Admin Phone.......... +1.785 832 8246
Admin Fax............

Tech Name............ YahooDomains TechContact
Tech Address......... 701 First Ave.
Tech Address.........
Tech Address......... Sunnyvale
Tech Address......... 94089
Tech Address......... CA
Tech Address......... UNITED STATES
Tech Email........... ***********@YAHOO-INC.COM
Tech Phone........... +1.619 881 3096
Tech Fax.............
Name Server.......... yns1.yahoo.com
Name Server.......... yns2.yahoo.com



I took the liberty of contacting Danny Wing Kin Li and he claims to have no knowledge of owning this domain. I advised him that I am forwarding the information to the Secret Service and encouraged him to contact his local field office to clear his own name.

I have forwarded this information to the United States Secret Service and will keep my readers posting regarding any updates.

Isn't it amazing how reality can be more interesting than fiction?